Uncategorized

House martins arriving in the UK

Many people across the UK are reporting their first house martins back at nests. I’m still waiting as usually they don’t arrive here until the last third of April with most arriving in May, but I thought it would be timely to post a link to my house martin WordPress page.

I share my experience of attracting these beautiful and threatened summer migrants. It contains a month by month account of what to look for in a typical UK house martin season, a gallery of house martin sketches and a guide to some tried and tested artificial nest designs.

I hope you find it useful. As house martins become more scarce, fewer people are familiar with them and some knowledge of their identification, nesting habitats and how we can help them can go a long way. I hope this page helps others to spread the love for this lovely bird.

Right now here it us just 7C and windy with heavy rain. Frankly, I’m glad mine haven’t yet returned! But I cannot wait to see the first house martin back under our eaves. What will this season bring for our house martins and swifts I wonder? I’ve been maintaining the nest boxes and setting the nest cameras ready this week in anticipation of their arrival. I gaze constantly at the sky with mounting expectation.

I will be blogging on here about my house martin and swift colony from the moment they arrive…

Link to my House Martin 2024 page below.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.