Uncategorized

Swifts and summer cumulus clouds- late morning, mid June

I lay on my back on a warm, dry lawn; the smell of cut grass filled the air. For a minute or so the sun was behind a small cumulus cloud making it easier on my eyes when I looked up. The swifts were feeding in wide arcs at high altitude, barely visible with the naked eye.

The gentle breeze combined with hot mid-summer sunshine made the watercolours dry very fast. I made some fast sketches which helped imprint the moment on my mind. On a damp, cold, 4C day such as today I remember that midsummer morning when I look at my sketchbook. Even the simplest pencil scribble or watercolour daub can recall a vivid memory on a day such as this.

Swifts and mid summer cumulus clouds.

Water colour and gouache 53x37cm.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.