bird behaviour

Snowy moor and raptors

The moor had a nice dusting of snow, so good to feel snow under foot again and walk in icy puddles. A biting wind as I walked under leaden skies. The only birds seen on the top of the moors were, perhaps surprisingly Bullfinches. A flock of about ten were feeding on heather seeds. Lower down I had superb views of a Hen Harrier hunting. It scattered Lapwing, Golden Plovers, Fieldfares and Woodpigeons in its path. It flew right over me only about twenty five feet above, staring me in the face with its owl like eyes as it passed. Shortly afterwards luck stayed with me and I had good views of a Goshawk, it too stirring the flocks in the fields. Once it has passed the lapwings settled close to me, resuming their feeding in the ploughed field and giving me great views.

Male Bullfinch amongst dock- watercolour

Leave a Reply

