bird behaviour

Waxwings in Ampleforth

Soon after dawn I heard Waxwings, then saw a small party flying over with some Redwings. I worked with the window open in the hope of hearing more. At 11.30am my concentration was disrupted by the sound of Waxwings; a party of 13 flew very low over the back garden. I downed the oil covered palette knife and ran down the road hoping to find them. It took a while but I found them near the church in the top of an ash tree. Some were flycatching, but mostly they sat swaying on the branches in the very gusty westerly breeze. When I returned home I realised that I had spread  oil paint on the door handles, binoculars and camera in my rapid exit to follow the birds- well worth it though!

Leave a Reply

